Watership Down

I’ve had Watership Down on my bookshelf for thirty-seven years.  I moved it from my parents house, to college, to an apartment, to another apartment, to a house and to another house, because I wanted to read it.  In Stephen King’s the Stand (my favorite book), Stuart Redman (my favorite character) refers to Watership Down (It was about rabbits!), and remembered it was on my “to read” list.  On the television show Lost,  James “Sawyer” Ford  (my favorite character) sits on the beach reading Watership Down after the plane crash. Again, I remembered.

Finally, I’m reading it.  At 129 pages, I can see why Stephen King had Stuart reading this at the beginning of the Stand–a bit of foreshadowing and preparation for Stu.  Because, really, this is a war story.  “Since leaving the warren of the snares they had become warier, shrewder, a tenacious band who understood each other and worked together.  There was no more quarreling….They had come closer together, relying on and valuing each other’s capacities.  They knew now that it was on these and on nothing else that their lives depended, and they were not going to waste anything they possessed between them.”  War bunnies?

(I’m not going to say I’m heading back down the rabbit hole.  I’m just not.)

Author: augustajusticewrites

Reading and writing (but mostly reading)....

Leave a Reply

